Skip to main content

New York Automotive & Diesel Institute LIBRARY: Automotive Websites

The road to knowledge.

WEBSITE CHOICES

There are millions and millions of websites floating out there in cyberspace.  Some come popping up whenever you turn on your computer or start a search.  Others disappear forever.  A few play hide and seek.  You know you found it once but can't seem to get back to it.  

We all have discovered that there is a lot of cyberjunk out there; but great information also exists. This page will guide you to a selection of sites that might help you in your studies and your career.  

If you know of a site you would like to recommend, please bring it to the attention of the Librarian.  Thank you.

AUTOMOTIVE HISTORY

Petersen Automotive Museum

A large part of the museum's focus is to collect and preserve historic vehicles, and a great deal of importance was placed from day one on acquiring a great number of significant vehicles of all shapes, sizes, makes, models, and purposes.

The Old Car Manual Project

The Old Car Manual Project has a collection of thousands of old car brochures, numbering over 50,000 pages. New brochures are added often to www.oldcarbrochures.org. Over 12,000 classic car advertisements, mostly from magazines make up our collection at www.oldcaradvertising.com

Bentley Historical Library / University of Michigan

From the hometown of the American auto industry comes a brief history.

The History Channel / Automobiles

Videos, text, speeches and more.

 

AUTO ELECTRONICS

RESEARCH MATERIAL

  • Auto Guide Bills itself as the web's largest automotive directory. Find anything from car parts to car clubs to software to legal information. Browseable by category.
  • NHTSA ‚ÄčSponsored by the Federal Government, this is the website of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Contains sections on Traffic Safety, Vehicles and Equipment, Research, and Laws and Regulations. Includes info on recalls and service bulletins as well.
  • SAE Digital Magazines  FREE digital access to all SAE periodicals.
  • WWW Virtual Library: Autos Dating to 1991, has all sorts of sites related to the automotive field compiled by experts. Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library started by Tim Berners-Lee -- the creator of HTML and the Web. Continually updated.
  • Yahoo! Automotive Content compiled and organized by the original masters of Web Directories. 1000s of sites and counting

ASSOCIATIONS FOR TECHNICIANS & STUDENTS

GENERAL AUTO SITES

The Auto Channel

This website provides new car buying guides, used car buying guides, reviews of vehicles, and other auto news.

Auto MD

Compare prices for repairs and get firm quotes from local shops.

Auto Mechanic

Automotive services technicians and mechanics held 701,100 jobs in 2012. Between 2012 and 2022, the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects employment in the industry will expand 8.6 percent, which is about as fast as the average for all occupations. The continued rise in the number of vehicles (particularly late-model cars and light trucks with longer lifespans) in tandem with the need for entry-level techs capable of providing basic maintenance and repair services is primarily driving this employment growth.

Autobody Online!

Locating shops or auto products along with articles and a weekly newsletter are hallmarks of this website.

AutoGuide.com

This site provides car reviews, comparisons, and automotive news.

Automotive Dictionary

This Automotive Dictionary collection is bringing you some of the best automotive dictionaries on the Web. They certainly will help you make sense and interpret a myriad of auto parts, components of automobiles, automotive accessories, technical automotive related information and so forth.

Autopedia

Autopedia, the automotive encyclopedia, is a free comprehensive automotive internet resource
where consumers can find information related to autos, boats, trucks, minivans, motorcycles, RVs, SUVs and the lemon law.
Autopedia was the first online encyclopedia, starting in November, 1995.

Autoshop 101

This site provides information on automotive training and resources for automotive electronics. It offers free online tutorials, ASE practice tests, and technical articles.

Car Guide - Discovery Channel

Car Parts.com

We have over a million parts and accessories, and we're sure to have what you need. If you're looking for a boost in your driving power, we have high-performance parts that will help your engine churn out more power.

Car Talk

This radio program is carried on more that 588 stations with more than 4.4 million weekly listeners.

Cars.com

Visited by more than 11 million car shoppers each month, Cars.com is the leading destination for online car shoppers, offering credible and easy-to-understand information from consumers and experts to help buyers formulate opinions on what to buy, where to buy and how much to pay for a car.

CDX Automotive Textbook Online

The CDX eTextbook is a free automotive specific, searchable online textbook with 90 minutes of video and 3,000 illustrations covering more than 1,000 automotive topics. Thousands of learners visit the CDX eTextbook every day because it’s a great resource, and helps students.

Changes in Gasoline IV Manual

As ethanol use expands and enters new markets, the following information is designed to answer questions automobile service technicians may have about ethanol and other fuel quality issues. This information is provided to ensure that service technicians have the information they need on new fuels and gasoline quality as it relates to vehicle performance and driveability. We also include information on power equipment and recreational engines. - See more at: http://www.ethanolrfa.org/ pages/changes-in-gasoline-iv-manual #sthash.NHCq9g8F.dpuf

Comprehensive Guide to Plug-in Hybrids

A plug-in hybrid car is similar to a conventional hybrid vehicle—both use a gasoline engine as well as an electric motor. However, a plug-in hybrid uses larger battery packs that can be recharged by connecting to common household electricity. Plug-in hybrids can be driven for long distances—from a few miles to as much as 40 miles—without using any gasoline.

Chilton Online Auto Repair Manuals

Today Chilton's editors continue to carefully craft information so that automotive enthusiasts, students and service professionals can rely on the Chilton legacy in information excellence.

Direct Hit

Direct-Hit provides information you won’t find anywhere else. Our industry-exclusive diagnostic short-cut tests and confirmed fix procedures are created from millions of calls to our Repair Hotline. Fixes are collected from over 100,000 techs in the field and validated by our own ASE Master Carline Specialists, producing the largest and most reliable collection of experience-based fix information.

Fuel Systems

This CDX Online eTextbook provides information on fuel systems as well as other systems in automobiles.

How Fuel Injection Systems Work

From How Stuff Works, this is a tutorial on injection systems.

How Stuff Works - Auto Page

Part of Discovery Communications, this site provides information on thousands of subjects. Automotive subjects are one area where you can learn more about cars.

    The Mechanics Hub 

A content-rich resource for diesel mechanics and heavy duty professionals, Mechanics Hub provides a virtual meeting place for key industry players, knowledge leaders and machinery enthusiasts. Community members can connect, share content and find mechanic jobs and related career advancement opportunities throughout North America.

Hybrid Cars

Hybrid Cars use a rechargeable energy storage system to supplement fossil fuel energy for vehicle propulsion. Hybrid engines are smaller and more efficient than traditional fuel engines. Some hybrid vehicles use regenerative braking to generate electricity while travelling. The term "Hybrid Vehicle" can also refer to a vehicle engine that uses a combination of different fuels such as petroleum and ethanol.

Just Give Me The Damn Manual

This webiste provides auto manuals by the top manufacturers.

Kelley Blue Book

In 1918, a young man named Les Kelley parked three Model T Fords in an open lot, put $450 in the till and started the Kelley Kar Company. It was to become the largest dealership in the world and, along the way, spawn a need for placing values on used and even new cars, known as Blue Book® values.

NAPA (National Automotive Parts Association)

More than 85 years ago, the National Automotive Parts Association ("NAPA") was created to meet America’s growing need for an effective auto parts distribution system. Today, 91% of do-it-yourself customers recognize the NAPA brand name.

Search Auto Parts

Advanstar Communications’ Automotive Aftermarket Group is a leading provider of integrated media solutions to the automotive industry, offering a powerful portfolio of 3 magazines; 8 targeted supplements and buyers guides; 5 websites including SearchAutoparts.com, the automotive industry’s leading B2B website, and 39 training manuals for vehicle industry professionals, trade buyers, and enthusiasts.

A Short Course on Ignition Systems

CarParts.com provides this website to give tutorials to technicians on various parts of the automobile. While this one is on ignitions systems, others can be accessed from this site.

Sylvania Automotive Lighting

Sylvania offers a wide range of high performance automotive lighting products with style, performance and the safety of you and your family in mind. Find the right one for your vehicle and your driving style.

Virtual Mechanic

This is the online motor vehicle repair guide and it has an iPhone app. The website is Australian, but information is applicable to all countries.